Skip to main content

Outstanding FTTH contributions rewarded in Vienna

An operator and two individuals that have actively contributed to the acceleration of FTTH in Europe have been recognised with awards at the FTTH Conference.

The Individual Award honours a single person for their unique efforts to make FTTH happen in Europe. The Operator Award acknowledges an operator company that has significantly contributed to the development and roll-out of FTTH in Europe. The Charles Kao Award honours an individual who has made an outstanding life-long achievement and contribution to promoting full fibre connectivity (globally, but particularly in Europe). Created in 2019, the latter award is in honour of fibre pioneer Professor Charles Kao (1933 - 2018) who was awarded in 2009 the Nobel Prize in Physics for ground-breaking achievements concerning the transmission of light in fibres for optical communication.

Eric Festraets, president of the FTTH Council Europe, presented the awards for the outstanding contributions to the acceleration of FTTH deployment in Europe during the conference in Vienna.

UK alternative operator, CityFibre picked up the Operator Award, while the Individual Award went to Jacek Wiśniewski, CEO of Polish wholesale operator and network owner, Nexera. Finally, the recipient of the Charles Kao Award was Alex Goldblum, CEO of Netherlands operator, Eurofiber.

Festraets commented: ‘What this year’s winners have in common is their passion for what they do, which results in excellent business performance greatly contributing to the FTTH roll-out in Europe. I am pleased to present the FTTH Council Europe Operator Award to CityFibre represented by CEO Greg Mesch. The FTTH Council Europe Individual Award this year is presented to Jacek Wiśniewski, CEO of NEXERA. Alex Goldblum, CEO of Eurofiber, has been chosen as the winner of the Charles Kao Award. Beyond their individual achievements, their successes have even motivated others to invest more in full fibre and stimulated a healthy, competitive market.’


Media Partners